How Are We Doing?

We feel good about the service that we provide. But, we don't know how you feel until we ask. Let us know what you thought about your interaction with our dealership.

Payless Car Sales is committed to excellence – but we are also always looking for ways to improve. Let us know how well we hit our mark of perfection by rating us below. We appreciate you taking the time!

Customer Lobby
Sort by: Latest review first / Highest rating first
Steve and Dana 22 Jan 2015
We did purchase our 2008 GL450 from Tamer. Here's my assessment of our experience. Eventually did purchase the vehicle because we got a fair deal on the vehicle and able to get competitive financing with warranty in our budget. After finding the car online, I completed a credit application and calle...d, spoke to Tamer, he got us a credit approval but contingent on our trade-in of our Acura MDX. Well, we loaded up the family in the car and drove 58 miles. It was a bit late but we had a deal in principal based on the trade-in. Unfortunately our trade-in just covered our payoff and gave us no equity. Peter who was working in finance gave us the numbers and unfortunately it was over our budget, I tried to justify it to myself but Peter stated give Mike, the manager, a chance to work the numbers and thought they could get the numbers within our budget the next day. I thought I was getting the "blow-off". The next day, I get a call from Tamer and stated that Mike was able to car with a full warranty in our budget, but just needed a little more as a down payment. So we loaded up the kids again and drove up. The car was detailed and was immaculate, looked as if it was taken from a Mercedes dealership. Papers where signed and we were done! Great job Tamer, Peter, and Mike! You'll have my business on my next car. Just a note if you are going up, lot has limited customer parking and is full of cars, the reception area, well there really is none just desks and chairs, a typical used car lot. Dont judge the book by its cover, they have quality cars, fair prices, and competitive financing. Show more
4 rate
Cars.com
jamy208 30 Oct 2014
I had a very good experience purchasing my latest vehicle here. The staff was very helpful in making the deal happens, even without the most ideal circumstances. I recommend, especially if you've been turned down by other places.
4 rate
Cars.com
Yael J., Carteret, NJ 10 Oct 2014
I had a very good experience purchasing my latest vehicle here. The staff was very helpful in making the deal happens, even without the most ideal circumstances. I recommend, especially if you've been turned down by other places.
4 rate
Yelp
Dan 22 Jul 2014
Just bought my second car from them, a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. I dealt with Tamer, and I couldn't be happier. The owner goes up to every customer and greets them and helps in any way possible. They make sure you get approved for a loan with cheap monthly payments and low interest rates. I highly recomm...end this dealer to EVERYONE!! Thank you for hooking me up for the second time guys. I will be back. Show more
5 rate
Cars.com
Rocco17 24 Jun 2014
I was shopping for a new car and saw that they had some newer models. My credit wasn't great but the team at Payless was! They were helpful and patient and I got the payment I needed for a 2013 Dodge Charger!!!!
5 rate
Cars.com
Kevin 14 Jun 2012
I would reccomend this dealership to anyone who is looking to buy a used car. They are very professional, I bought a BMW and i love it. They treat me very nice, I always feel comfortable going back there, I get oil changes done there. I would recommend this dealership to anyone, if you can't get app...roved anywhere, they will go above and beyond to get you into the car you want. Show more
5 rate
Cars.com
hiiii 04 Jun 2012
I am going to be as straight forward as can be. Payless Car Sales of South Amboy is the only dealarship to get my brother, my uncle, a friend of mine, and my self approved and driving a car. Of course everyone thinks salesman are going push them to buy that day but what do you expect when its their ...job and their way of making a living. the salesmen i worked with along with everyone i recommened was obvioussly aggressive but he made me realize that its only because its his job. He truthfully was honest and i belived everything he said because it was all proven to me. im just very satisfied and think people should relax on salesmen. Payless made my buying experinces very enjoyable and i have not one single bad thing to say about them. Show more
5 rate
Cars.com
Joey 13 Feb 2012
Great place to buy a used car ! I purchased a used Mercedes from them and I was very happy with the sales and service department .
5 rate
Cars.com
Mercedes Man 12 Feb 2012
I am very skeptical about dealing with a used car dealer but these people changed all of that at least when it comes to dealing with them. They were up front and honest about everything from getting financing to getting the best car for my needs and budget. No other dealer could get me financed but ...these people worked hard and did the job. I now have a great car that I can afford. I did have one little problem with the car after I bought it. They told me to bring it back. I did and they fixed it for free. Everyone was very friendly there and I truly did have a great experience dealing with Payless Car Sales. Their cars are the nicest and cleanest cars I have ever seen on a used car lot. The fact that they are a nationwide franchise also made me feel more comfortable dealing with them. I have been telling anyone I know that is looking for a good used car to go there first. I will be back when I am ready for my next car. Show more
5 rate
Cars.com
Bella 07 Feb 2012
I purchased a vehicle from Payless Car Sales of South Amboy and had the best experience. From the minute I walked in I was greeted by a very nice sales person Bob. He was very patient and showed me many cars from their large selection. I had a hassle free purchase and love my car ! I would definitel...y recommend them to my friends and family !! Show more
5 rate
Cars.com
Questions?
Please speak with our friendly staff for more information.

Questions?

Speak with one of our professional staff members to get a quick answer to your question.

Please check errors
Adjust Payment Terms ×

We want to help you find the perfect car that fits your budget. Please adjust the options below so we can estimate the most accurate monthly payments.

Estimated Credit Score or Interest Rate

Desired Loan Term (months)

How much will you put down?

All tax, title and vehicle registration fees are additional. See dealer for complete details.